Hethersett Athletic Club Badge

Hethersett Athletic Football Club  

Founded - 1991  

Record Section


Statistics and Records

Roll of Honour  

Past Seasons


Club Matters


Club Constitution  

Development Plan  

Child Protection

Club Directory  

Charter Awards

Honorary Life Members


Committee Minutes/Agenda


Presentation Evenings

Annual Meetings

Lee Thompson Memorial 

Easton Partnership



Athletic Personalities


Miscellaneous Matters


Site Map


Where are they Now?

Archive Newsletters




A National FA Community Charter Club

Honorary Life Membership

In 2003 the club appointed its first two honorary life members in recognition of outstanding contribution to the club.

This was followed the following year by the appointment of a third honorary life member and in 2005 a fourth name was added to the list.

The club's first two life members were presented with special mementoes at the 2003 annual presentation evening at Carrow Road. To read about the evening click here. The third was presented with a special memento at the 2004 annual presentation evening and the fourth at the 2005 event.

The award is made at the behest of the club's committee. The criteria for becoming a life member is:

  1. Those who have made an outstanding contribution to Hethersett Athletic Football Club

  2. Those who have made an outstanding contribution to soccer in Hethersett

  3. Those who have made an outstanding contribution to sport in the village

  4. Those who have made an outstanding contribution to Hethersett life.

In addition a fifth category was instigated in 2006 with a special section for players who have completed 300 league and cup games. The first recipient of this was Danny Holman who played his 300th game for the club on October 8th, 2006.

The first two incumbents - Ian Harrison and Mel Perkins - were presented with their honorary life memberships by deputy chair of Norfolk FA Stuart Dracup. The club currently has eight honorary life members with Michael Lemmon the latest addition in April 2015. The full list is as follows along with citations written at the time for a number of recipients.




Ian is well known in soccer circles both in Hethersett and further afield in Norfolk.

His enthusiasm for the game and his ability as a coach has rubbed off on many of the players who have come under his wing over many years.

Ian began coaching in the village well over a decade ago at Cubs level and was then responsible for starting a Hethersett team that met with considerable success in local leagues and which concentrated almost exclusively on Hethersett players.

A few years ago Ian joined Hethersett Athletic as both a committee member and a coach of a new adult side which entered Division Four of the Norwich and District Sunday League. He led that side to three consecutive divisional championships - many of which were achieved by massive margins. Ian subsequently retired from coaching teams but left the first team in good shape to eventually progress even further. Ian is pictured receiving his award from Stuart Dracup


Every successful club needs a Mel Perkins and it would be true to say that without Mel's vision Hethersett Athletic would not exist.

For Mel started the club (then known as Hethersett Jubilee) in 1991 with one Under-12s boys' youth side. The fact that today the club has 12 teams catering for all ages and both sexes is testament to his skill, professionalism and enthusiasm.

Today Mel is club secretary and the debt the club owes him for his hard work is immeasurable.

Mel looks after the day to day running of the club and still finds time to serve on the management committee and as fixtures secretary for youth leagues.

In addition he is heavily involved with cycle speedway in the village and is pictured above.

In 2004 Mel and Ian were joined by current club chairman Peter Steward who was made an honorary life member to mark his work for the club. The following year club vice-chairman Sue Milne was elected to mark her outstanding contribution both to the club and also women's football in Norfolk. 

In 2006 Danny Holman became the first player to be made an honorary life member after completing 300 league and cup games. Danny is pictured below at a special presentation from his coach Bob Oliver whilst fellow Men's A team players look on.

Danny has subsequently been joined on the role of honour by fellow players Paul Martin, Matt Steward, Steven Beck, James Rice, Matt Molloy, Richard Manington and Mike Pugh who have all completed 300 league and cup games for the club. The current list of life members is:


2003 Ian Harrison
2003 Mel Perkins
2004 Peter Steward
2005 Sue Milne
2015 Michael Lemmon
2006 Danny Holman (players award)
2008 Paul Martin (players award)
2009 Matt Steward (players award)
2013 Steven Beck (players award)
2013 James Rice (players award)
2014 Matt Molloy (players award)
2014 Richard Manington (players award)
2016 Mike Pugh (players award)