Hethersett Athletic Club Badge

Hethersett Athletic Football Club  

Founded - 1991  

Record Section


Statistics and Records

Roll of Honour  

Past Seasons


Club Matters


Club Constitution  

Development Plan  

Child Protection

Club Directory  

Charter Awards

Honorary Life Members


Committee Minutes/Agenda


Presentation Evenings

Annual Meetings

Lee Thompson Memorial 

Easton Partnership



Athletic Personalities


Miscellaneous Matters


Site Map


Where are they Now?

Archive Newsletters




A National FA Community Charter Club

Lee Thompson Memorial Trophy 2011

Barrie Slater presents the Lee Thompson Memorial Shiled to James Rice.

The 2011 Lee Thompson Memorial Trophy was presented to James Rice at the club's annual youth team funday on June 26th, 2011 by Barrie Slater, Chair and Treasurer of the Norfolk Youth Combination League.

"Ricey" held off strong competition from some excellent nominations to take the club's most prestigious award which is given annually in memory of former club player Lee Thompson to the person or persons making an outstanding contribution to club life.

His nominations stated the following

James is a selfless, bubbly character who can be the life and soul of the party or the wake (as in the case of a poor finish to the Saturday menís season). Hethersett through and through James is studying at Bedford and teacher training in and around Norfolk, but has found time to ensure that the current under 11 team has the experience of his coaching and he has proved a great support to Steve Walker in the difficult year of young players moving from 7-a-side to the 11-a-side game. Following a hectic Saturday morning session with the youngsters James then turns out for the adult menís Saturday side whenever his studies allow him travelling back from Bedford at personal expense for his two passions. Not confined to HAFC James was also a key organiser in the nationally recognised Olympic weekend in the Park event last year and will be again this. He has grown with us, and we as a Club have grown by having such dedicated young men coming through our ranks and taking their place in village life.

Other nominations for the 2011 award included club secretary and founder Mel Perkins, who won the award in 2009, Matt Steward who has become the first player in the club's history to play over 400 league and cup games, Kevin Swann for his outstanding work with the women's and girls game and organisation of the club's ladies five-a-side tournament and Steve Walker for his outstanding contribution both in a coaching and administration capacity.