Hethersett Athletic Club Badge

Hethersett Athletic Football Club  

Record Section


Statistics and Records

Roll of Honour  

Past Seasons


Club Matters


Club Constitution  

Development Plan  

Child Protection

Club Directory  

Charter Awards

Honorary Life Members


Committee Minutes/Agenda


Presentation Evenings

Annual Meetings

Lee Thompson Memorial 

Easton Partnership



Athletic Personalities


Miscellaneous Matters


Site Map


Where are they Now?

Archive Newsletters




A National FA Community Charter Club

Founded - 1991  

Lee Thompson Memorial Trophy 2006

The club's most prestigious trophy for 2006 was awarded to committee member and A team player Tom Rainsford for outstanding contribution to the club both in an administrative and also coaching and playing capacity.

He was presented with the award by Chair of Norfolk FA Stuart Dracup at the adult teams' presentation evening at Park Farm Hotel in May, 2006.

It was Tom's second successive nomination for the award. Last season he was narrowly pipped to the post by Ray Milne.

His nomination states that over the past year Tom has "extended his credentials" to win the award.

Tom has lived in Hethersett for about nine years and is still only 18 years of age. Despite his youth, he has coached the Under-9s for the past two seasons. During this season he has obtained sponsorship from McDonalds to enable the youngsters to have a complete new kit. One of his squad members has made it into the Norwich City Academy.

In addition Tom coaches primary school children one evening a week at Tacolneston. In addition Tom has played over 130 games for the club, is a regular member of the Men's A team and represents that side on the club management committee.

"Tom has carried out his duties on an unwavering basis as well as playing for the men's team and coping with full-time A level studies. He is a credit to his family, his school and Hethersett Athletic," said his nomination.

The award will also be presented by Lee's parents Mary and Ray at the first match of the 2006/2007 season.

Other shortlisted nominations for the 2006 award were:

Ollie Whitmore - Men's A team.